top of page

Episode 5: Policy Debate, OJ, and Cheddar and Sour Cream Ruffles with Haley Lauze-Reyes

Updated: Oct 17, 2020

Two-time National Qualifier at Green River, former college debater at EWC and UNLV, and former Assistant Coach at Torrington High School, Haley Lauze-Reyes took time to talk about her experiences in Speech and Debate, the reasons why Policy Debate rocks, and why orange juice and Cheddar and Sour Cream Ruffles are the perfect snack.

 

When I became a Head Coach at Torrington High School, I was brand new to the Speech and Debate universe. The whole experience was wild for me. I was learning how tournaments worked at the same time that I was trying to build team community at the same time I was learning how events worked at the same time I was trying to help my students succeed at the same time I was trying to keep my own head from flying off my shoulders. The community of Wyoming coaches, my own amazingly patient and talented competitors, and (after my first couple years coaching) my assistant coaches kept my ship from capsizing and helped me find my way as a coach.


Enter Haley Lauze-Reyes. Haley arrived at Torrington High School as an assistant coach and immediately made a lasting impact on the debate program. Haley and Zach Bearnson, both young coaches and former competitors, took our debaters to another level, and taught me so much about debate. Since those days, Haley has competed in debate at the college level, earned her BA in Communication Studies at UNLV, and she has aspirations to earn her doctorate.


Haley talked on the pod about the origins of her Speech and Debate journey, the great things about competing in debate, the challenges and glories of Policy Debate, and the rather odd snack preferences she developed in her debate preparation process.


Thank you so much for all you've taught me, for your friendship, and for coming on the One Clap Podcast, Haley!

 

bottom of page